any good, new music out there?

It can be tough to find new music.  With my morning coffee I generally peruse through pitchfork.com, the Portland Mercury, and random music blogs.  Otherwise, I pay attention to music festivals like  Coachella, Sasquatch, Lollapalooza and Rock the Bells. Yesterday I read that pitchfork.com rated four bands that will be performing at Sasquatch Memorial Day Weekend as being the best new albums out right now.  The bands in question are:

The National with High Violet, Broken Social Scene with Forgiveness Rock Record, Sleigh Bells with Treats and The Tallest Man on Earth with The Wild Hunt.

I have yet to see any of these bands live, and will give you my full report after the show.  In the meantime, here is a clip from SXSW of Sleigh Bells.  The only reason I’ve heard of this band is from M.I.A.’s twitter page.  After wowing the audience at SXSW this year, M.I.A.’s new record label N.E.E.T. signed the Brooklyn duo immediately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

