no to real|yes to surreal

The Average Bureaucrat, Salvador Dali, 1930.

Vintage poster.

Surrealism is one of my favorite categories of art work.  Not that I am a big fan of placing artists into a category/box/etc, but regardless, Salvador Dali is king of that realm from where I stand.  The height of my nerdiness can be seen when I visit museums… and when I saw Soft Construction with Boiled Beans (Premonition of Civil War) [check it out here] in Philladelphia a couple years ago I was temporarily paralyzed.  The colors, the imagery, the perfect size of the piece… I was thoroughly impressed.  At that moment I was choked up, didn’t respond to anyone around me, and like many other moments in museums before this one, I realized that this is what I live for.

“Surrealism is destructive, but it destroys only what it considers to be shackles limiting our vision.”
– Salvador Dali

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Life, Salvador Dali

Leave a Reply

